Board of Directors

Wynand Janssen

Wynand Janssen. Chairperson. Independent Non-Executive Director. Age 64 years

  • Member of the Care Governance Committee

Mr Janssen was appointed a director in 2012. He has worked in commercial financial roles for over 40 years, the past 20 as Regional Finance Director for a multinational corporation. He was previously a Director, and Treasurer, of Warrigal Care from 1997 until 2009, resigning from that role to take up an overseas assignment. He holds degrees in Commerce and Education as well as an MBA. He is a member of CPA Australia and a Fellow of the Institute of Company Directors. He is a charter member of the Rotary Club of Illawarra Sunrise and has served in various capacities both within the club and at district levels. He was reappointed a director in December 2012.

Roger Downs

Roger Downs. Vice Chairperson. Independent Non-Executive Director. Age 61 years.

  • Member of Business Risk and Audit Committee

Mr Downs was appointed director in 1997. He is a Lawyer and Chairman of Partners at Kells The Lawyers. Mr Downs holds degrees in Commerce and Law and a postgraduate diploma in Management, and is also an Accredited Specialist in Property Law and Business Law. He is a member of the Business Law Committee of the Law Society of NSW, a Director of Community Alliance Credit Union Ltd and a member of the Illawarra Shoalhaven Local District Health Board. His community involvement includes 18 years in Corrimal Apex Club and many years as honorary legal adviser to Surf Life Saving Illawarra.


Wayne Morris. Independent Non-Executive Director. Age 58 years.

  • Chairperson of Business Risk and Audit Committee
  • GAICD, ACIS, ACIM, MIPA, AIMM, AIFS and AMP (Harvard).

Appointed as director in 2009. He is a retired CEO and currently acts as a voluntary business consultant to various community, charity and church organisations. He is also on the boards of Illawarra Performing Arts Centre Inc., Living Sound Broadcasters Ltd, Destination Wollongong, Southern Illawarra Church of Christ, Wollongong Conservatorium of Music Ltd, Wollongong Symphony Orchestra Foundation Ltd and the Advisory Council to Illawarra Venues Authority.

Margaret Collins

Margaret Collins. Independent Non-Executive Director. Age 62 years.

  • Member of Business Risk and Audit Committee

Mrs Collins was appointed as Director in 1997. She has over 30 years experience in the financial services industry, is a Fellow of the Institute of Financial Services and has completed the Diploma of Financial Planning through Deakin University. Mrs Collins is presently a Financial Planner with Smart Financial. Past community involvement includes serving as Secretary of Warilla Chamber of Commerce, Treasurer of Skills with Advancement and Training, Branch Delegate for Shellharbour Junior Surf Life Saving Club and Shellharbour Netball Club.

Philip Thompson

Philip Thompson OAM. Independent Non-Executive Director. Age 65 years.

  • Chairperson of Planning Development and Sustainability Committee
  • Member of Project Control Group

Mr Thompson was appointed as Director in 1999. He holds qualifications in Civil Engineering and is presently a Subdivision and Development Engineer for Shellharbour City Council. He has held voluntary positions with the Salvation Army Red Shield Appeal as their Shellharbour/Kiama area chairman from 2000 - 2007, was the Association of Apex Clubs NSW State President in 1989 and Illawarra District Governor in 1985 and 1986. He was an inaugural member of the Illawarra Life Education units, past Treasurer of the Illawarra branch of the Automotive and Mechanical Engineers, past Secretary of the Oak Flats Junior Hockey Club and is a Justice of the Peace.

Judy Mullan

Dr Judy Mullan. Independent Non-Executive Director. Age 55 years.

  • Member of the Care Governance Committee

Dr Judy Mullan was appointed a director in 2000. She is a Senior Lecturer in the Graduate School of Medicine at the University of Wollongong and the Illawarra Health and Medical Research Institute (IHMRI) theme leader (scientific) for Ageing and Chronic Conditions. Judy holds a Bachelor degree in Pharmacy and the Arts, as well as a PhD in Public Health. She is a registered pharmacist and a fellow of the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia. Her community involvements include voluntary work for aged care services church organisations, multicultural organisations and support for rural health and medical university students. Her professional and research focus aims to improve health literacy, medication management and the safety and quality use of medicines, especially among older people with chronic conditions.

Helen Newman

Helen Newman. Independent Non-Executive Director. Age 56 years.

  • Chairperson of the Care Governance Committee
  • Member of Planning Development and Sustainability Committee

Mrs Newman was appointed a director in 2004. She is a Registered Nurse currently working at Shellharbour Hospital in Nursing Administration. She has several certificates related to post graduation nursing studies and a Graduate Diploma in Nursing (Critical Care). She is a member of the Australian College for Infection Prevention and Control. She has helped St Vincent de Paul as a collector for the annual door knock appeal over the last several years.

Peter Buckley web

Peter Buckley. Independent Non-Executive Director. Age 39 years.

  • Member of Planning Development and Sustainability Committee

Mr. Buckley was appointed a director of Warrigal in 2018. He is the Chief Customer Officer for MyPass Global and is an experienced executive leader and company director who has operated across a wide range of sectors including Engineering Services, Private Health Insurance, Education, Aged Care and Manufacturing. Leadership roles have included Head of Strategy and Innovation for a Not for Profit health insurer and General Manager of a large ASX listed engineering and services company. He is currently a director for The Macarthur Credit Union, Vice President of The Illawarra Connection and member of the Salvation Army Illawarra Advisory Board. He holds a degree in Commerce from the University of Wollongong and an MBA with distinction from the Sydney Business School. He is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Contact us

2 Pine Street, Albion Park Rail, NSW 2527
PO Box 435 Albion Park, NSW 2527
Fax: 4257 4232

Toll free: 1800 WARRIGAL

Contact Me 

Volunteer with us

Warrigal was founded by volunteers and they continue to be vital to ensuring our residents happiness. From driving buses to regular visits, even assisting with our business operations, we have many varied opportunities for anyone who would like to donate their time, energy and skills to Warrigal’s residents.

Apply now